Support Beginning Readers!

Outside of being avid bookworms and this fun blog, we Midwest Ladies have some real jobs. I’m lucky enough to have a job that is related to reading- I teach First Grade (and wouldn’t ya know it- Reading is my favorite!). While we have a pretty extensive classroom library with a mixture of both school-supplied…

Girls’ Night Out – Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke

Thank you to Liz & Lisa for sending us free books in exchange for our honest reviews. ❤ From the back: The should have stayed in. For estranged friends, Ashley, Natalie, and Lauren, it’s time to heal the old wounds between them. Where better to repair those severed ties than on a girls’ getaway to…

Folsom Preview!

FOLSOM BY FISHER & ASTER Release Date: May 29, 2018 Contemporary Romance with a side of Dystopian Cover Designed by Hang Le https://www.facebook.com/designsbyhangle/ Synopsis for FOLSOM: The nation as we know it is a thing of the past. With the male species on the verge of extinction, a society called the End Men is formed…

Perennials- Julie Cantrell

I’ve read Julie Cantrell before, but for some reason, Perennials is different. It’s like she found her true voice and is not allowing it to be silenced. Perennials was full of searing heartbreak, eye-opening drama, and family troubles- what more could you ask for?

Check out this new release today!!!!

The Balance Project by Susie Orman Schnall

The Balance Project is a story of loyalty, choices, and balance that will resonate deeply with all women who struggle with this hot-button issue.   Loyal assistant Lucy Cooper works for Katherine Whitney, who seems to have it all: a high-powered job at a multibillion-dollar health and wellness lifestyle company, a successful husband, and two adorable…

Rosie and Friends: One-of-a-Kindness by Helen Hipp

Embark on a new safari with Hornsby the rhino as he comes face-to-face with losing his sense of belonging. No longer accepted by his herd, Hornsby searches for companionship. With the help of his new buddies, Hornsby learns that his life is one of a kind, and that spreading his kindness is a good way…

Little Broken Things

Thank you to Nicole Baart for this ARC in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl. I have something for you….

Truly Madly Guilty- Liane Moriarty

Thank you to Booksparks and Flatiron books for sending us a copy of TMG in exchange for an honest review! In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty turns her unique, razor-sharp eye towards three seemingly happy families. Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit busy, life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a…

The Breakdown – B.A. Paris

Synopsis from Goodreads: If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust? Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out…

Little Gray Dress- Aimee Brown

This is right up the alley of those who enjoy watching a hallmark movies or other popular romantic comedies! If you are a fan of Emily Giffin, Sophie Kinsella, or similar rockin’ chick lit authors, you need to put Aimee Brown on your radar! Her debut novel was refreshing and a dazzling display of what she’s capable of! My only compliant about the book is that I want to know what happened next- I wish it didn’t end!

Eden- Jeanne McWilliams Blasberg

Eden is teeming with secrets, courage, strength, abundant with tales from a dysfunctional family, and with a message that the spirit of family, though dim at times, can prevail anything that is set as an obstacle. With its’ multi-dimensional and multi-generational characters and setting, Blasberg has hit it out of the park with her first novel. I cannot wait to see what she has coming for us next. I highly recommend Eden and it’s a strong contender for my favorite novel so far this year. 

Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

Synopsis from GoodReads: Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want…