**REVIEW & GIVEAWAY** Saving Shadow (The Beckett Files, #1) ~by Laura Beers

Thank you to the author for providing me with a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Born with a perfect memory, Lady Elizabeth Beckett has become one of the world’s most notorious spies, despite being the daughter of a duke. She is shielded only by her code name: Shadow. When young ladies of High Society begin disappearing from London, Eliza has no doubt who is orchestrating these crimes; a heinous man she has been investigating for years. Vowing to save them before they are sold to the highest bidder, she must risk everything to stop him.

Lord Sinclair was perfectly content being the second son of a marquess, but when his brother is murdered, he is thrust into a position he has not been prepared for and does not desire. As an agent for the Crown, he is expected to retire now that he is the heir, but he’s been granted special permission for one more mission… to obtain justice for his murdered brother.

Used to keeping secrets, Lady Eliza and Lord Sinclair must learn to open up to each other when they are assigned as partners to bring down the same ruthless man and his brutal empire of abduction and slavery. As Eliza’s tainted past becomes too much for her to bear alone, can she learn to trust her new partner with her secrets, her life, and possibly her heart?

Review:

I have to start by saying that I was a bit hesitant about starting this one. I don’t read very much romance. And of the romance I do read, none of it is historical. But I was incredibly intrigued by this smart and fierce female spy who lives in the uppercrust of society. Lucky for me, my intrigue won out.

This was the book I saved for myself to read as my wind-down at the end of each night. The one that I read to escape reality before bed each night so I could fall asleep peacefully without worrying about the rest of my day.  This was both a good and bad choice.  Good because it was an awesome escape, bad because I kept reading “just one more chapter” and not getting any sleep. I should mention that the romance in Saving Shadow is clean and fairly mild, allowing for the action in the story and Eliza’s role as an agent for the Crown to take center stage.

Now I want everyone to read this book. I want you all to meet Eliza and fall in love with her awesome brain and her take-no-crap attitude. And I want you all to escape to Italy circa 1813 and join Eliza and Benedict on their crazy and exciting mission to take down the horribly evil Mr. Wade. ~Amber

And now for the GIVEAWAY part!! Laura has graciously offered up 10 digital copies of Saving Shadow to our followers! I know, right?! 10 copies!! And we’re making it super easy to get your name in the hat. Just leave a comment on this post and you’re entered. Easy Peasy.  Want more entries? Head over to our Facebook and Instagram pages for more ways to win. We’ll keep the giveaway open through Friday 12/1 and draw names over the weekend. Good luck!

Purchase Links: Barnes & Noble IndieBound Amazon

You can find the author online on Facebook, and Instagram.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Catherine Hovey says:

    This book sounds amazing! I love a good romance novel

    Like

    1. Check your email, Catherine!

      Like

  2. Candice S. says:

    Sounds wonderful! I’m usually not into historical romance, but this sounds intriguing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

