The Breakdown – B.A. Paris

Synopsis from Goodreads:thebreakdown

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?

Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw the car in the woods, on the winding rural road, in the middle of a downpour, with the woman sitting inside―the woman who was killed. She’s been trying to put the crime out of her mind; what could she have done, really? It’s a dangerous road to be on in the middle of a storm. Her husband would be furious if he knew she’d broken her promise not to take that shortcut home. And she probably would only have been hurt herself if she’d stopped.

But since then, she’s been forgetting every little thing: where she left the car, if she took her pills, the alarm code, why she ordered a pram when she doesn’t have a baby.

The only thing she can’t forget is that woman, the woman she might have saved, and the terrible nagging guilt.

Or the silent calls she’s receiving, or the feeling that someone’s watching her…


You guys.  I can’t tell you how many times I have walked into a room and forgotten why. That feeling like you’ve lost your mind because you’ve forgotten the main thing that lead you to take those deliberate steps towards the room you weren’t in? The Break Down was the perfect title choice for this book. I totally felt like I was having a break down with Cass while I was reading it. Every time she had to account for something that happened during a lapse in memory, I mentally went through my own life wondering if I was missing things as well. Paranoid, right? Let’s not even couple that feeling with the guilt of knowing that you could have potential saved a woman from being murdered.

Paris packs a punch with this novel, getting you right into Cass’s head without even knowing how you got there. While I felt like I had the ending all figured out, I was delightfully caught of guard by the unexpected. It was also an easy read in a way that is hard to explain (for me, anyway)… It’s like I was so immersed in the story that my imagination was able to take over in a way that made it felt like I wasn’t actually reading the story, but witnessing it as a fly on the wall.

Happy Publication Day, B. A. Paris!  Thanks for giving me the creeps.

Enjoy!

– amy

Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for allowing me to read a copy of this brilliant book early in exchange for my honest review.

About the author (from Goodreads): baprisB A Paris grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. Behind Closed Doors is her first novel.

You can find B. A. Paris on Facebook, Twitter, and on Instagram: @baparisauthor

You can purchase The Break Down: Amazon or Barnes & Noble

One Comment Add yours

  1. JReynolds says:

    Loved The Breakdown, definitely want to check out B.A. Paris’ other book now as a result. Right when I was beginning to lose faith in Cass the author dragged me back in with an unexpected ending to close it all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

