Bring Her Home ~by David Bell

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the breathtaking new thriller from David Bell, bestselling author of Since She Went Away and Somebody I Used to Know, the fate of two missing teenage girls becomes a father’s worst nightmare….

Just a year and a half after the tragic death of his wife, Bill Price’s fifteen-year-old daughter, Summer, and her best friend, Haley, disappear. Days later, the girls are found in a city park. Haley is dead at the scene, while Summer is left beaten beyond recognition and clinging to life.

As Bill holds vigil over Summer’s bandaged body, the only sound the unconscious girl can make is one cryptic and chilling word: No. And the more time Bill spends with Summer, the more he wonders what happened to her. Or if the injured girl in the hospital bed is really his daughter at all.

When troubling new questions about Summer’s life surface, Bill is not prepared for the aftershocks. He’ll soon discover that both the living and the dead have secrets. And that searching for the truth will tear open old wounds that pierce straight to the heart of his family…

This book was awesome. I’m embarrassingly admitting that, despite owning other books written by David Bell, this is the first one I’ve read.  That being said, I don’t think I could’ve picked a better book to introduce myself to his work. Bring Her Home hooked me from the first chapter and held me captive through the last page. I honestly even considered calling in sick to work so I could sit home and finish it. (I didn’t. I went to work like a good, responsible adult, but I probably broke the speed limit trying to get home and back to reading.)

Back to the book. I absolutely loved the pacing of this story. It was drawn out just enough to keep me guessing and impatiently turning the pages, but not so slow that I got bored. Nor was it too fast that I couldn’t keep up.  In addition to the great pace, it was filled with the kind of characters who force you to respond to them, whether that be with empathy, pity, disgust, or anger. (Did I mention that I was never bored with this book?) And the story itself was something that could’ve easily been pulled from the headlines of the nightly news, realistic and gripping in that this-is-a-worst-nightmare-situation-and-I-hope-it-never-happens-to-me kind of way. You don’t want to stare, but you can’t turn away.

If you’re looking for an intensely suspenseful mystery to lose yourself in, I highly recommend you grab Bring Her Home.  I also highly recommend you black out a couple of days on your calendar and hunker down, because you are in for a crazy ride. ~Amber

Purchase links: Amazon Barnes & Noble

About the author (from his Website): David Bell is the author of seven novels from Berkley/Penguin, including BRING HER HOME, SINCE SHE WENT AWAY, SOMEBODY I USED TO KNOW, THE FORGOTTEN GIRL, NEVER COME BACK, THE HIDING PLACE, and CEMETERY GIRL. His work has been translated into numerous foreign languages, and in 2013, he won the prestigious Prix Polar International de Cognac for best crime novel by an international author. He is an associate professor of English at Western Kentucky University where he directs the MFA program in creative writing. A native of Cincinnati, Ohio, he spends his free time rooting for the Reds and Bengals, watching movies, and walking in the cemetery near his house. He lives in Bowling Green, Kentucky, with his wife, writer Molly McCaffrey.

Find him online: Facebook Instagram Twitter

Thank you to Lori at Get Red PR for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

