Lying to Children- Alex Shahla

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

A fictional father writes letters to his college-aged daughter and son remembering events, large and small, from their family’s past in the poignant and hilarious Lying to Children. In this collection of sometimes outrageous, sometimes sad, often heartwarming interconnected vignettes, author Alex Shahla enters the fray with a delightful confessional celebration of family life told in stories from a dad’s unique perspective. Centered around the untruths parents regularly tell their kids in an effort to protect (or silence) them—from “Daddy Loves his Job” to “There’s a Jolly Fat Man who Brings You Presents (Assembly Required)” —Lying to Children is an unforgettable familial history filled with laughter, tears, and life lessons, and brimming over with a somewhat-less-than-perfect suburban dad’s unwavering love.

I had a blast reading this book. This was exactly the type of humor that I love: sarcastic and smart. I will admit that I’m not a parent so I couldn’t relate to the stories on that level, but I have parents and I could totally hear them in these stories. And that made it so much funnier. I think this is a great book for anyone who’s looking for a good laugh, something to read to escape their surroundings for a bit.  I also think it would be a great book to keep on the coffee table to allow people to grab it and read a story here and there. Because these are definitely stories and laughs worth sharing. ~Amber

This is a hilarious, brutally honest depiction of parenthood. I have an eight- and ten-year-old and, let me tell you – I’ve lied to them plenty of times! If you’re looking for a deep, moving novel – this is not it. BUT if you are a stressed out parent who has locked yourself in the bathroom, eating the chocolate Reese’s peanut butter cups that you had hidden just to get a few minutes of peace and quiet, bring this book in there with you next time! The vignettes are tidbits of parenthood that are written on such a personal level, and as a parent – it’s like having a conversation with a friend about our day.  The kids kept butting into the dialogue as they would in real life! I read this over the course of two weeks, spreading out the chapters somewhat like a cleanse to refresh my brain from my other current reads. There were times I had to go back and re-read a part to my husband (the part on being a successful parent meaning your kid grows up and isn’t a killer – high five!) and he enjoyed it as well! Parenthood is a life changing, important, stressful (yet magical) event, but this book captures the perfect mixture of all it – the heart warming and the crazy. In my opinion, this book was a sweet treat and I very much recommend it! ~Kris

 

About the author (from his Website): Alex Shahla received his undergraduate degree from Haverford College and his juris doctor from Pepperdine University School of Law. He spent his first two years after law school working in civil litigation with a particular focus on aviation incidents. He has since retired from the practice of law and now works in-house for an apparel company. He lives near the beach in Santa Monica, CA.

Find him online: Facebook Instagram Twitter

Thank you to Booksparks for providing us with copies of the book in exchange for our honest reviews.

Leave a Reply

