The Good Widow – Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke

Book Blurb

Elementary school teacher Jacqueline “Jacks” Morales’s marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought it was…until two police officers showed up at her door with devastating news. Her husband of eight years, the one who should have been on a business trip to Kansas, had suffered a fatal car accident in Hawaii. And he wasn’t alone.

For Jacks, laying her husband to rest was hard. But it was even harder to think that his final moments belonged to another woman—one who had left behind her own grieving and bewildered fiancé. Nick, just as blindsided by the affair, wants answers. So he suggests that he and Jacks search for the truth together, retracing the doomed lovers’ last days in paradise.

Now, following the twisting path of that fateful road, Jacks is learning that nothing is ever as it seems. Not her marriage. Not her husband. And most certainly not his death…

Group Review

The Good Widow was a difficult book to put down. I love that the main character was a teacher – go educators!- and how their long, predictable  relationship was described. The details were spot on as the story unfolded, although she had this eerie calm about her and I would have been completely losing my shit…. possibly in a drunken stupor, but anyways…. Nick showed up at the perfect time and, although I had an idea some events would have occurred, I never guessed that ending. Overall, a heartbreaking, yet thrilling read filled with suspense that has the ability to keep you on your toes just waiting for what’s next! ~Kris

I agree with Kris – this book was fantastic! It kept me guessing from the very beginning. In fact, I was completely certain that I’d figured it all out by the time I got to page 214 (no clue what made that page so special). I was way off. And it made me so happy that I got it so completely wrong because that’s always a disappointment for me, being able to guess the ending. I want to be surprised, and Liz & Lisa delivered! Fans of domestic thrillers, twisted plot lines, and unreliable characters need to add this one to their summer reading list ASAP! ~Amber

I was really nervous about this book, being Liz & Lisa’s first suspense novel. I likened it to watching your kid perform at their first big dance recital or sporting event…. you know they’re going to do well, but you’re still cautiously excited. I am happy to report that Liz & Lisa nailed their first suspense novel and I am confident that if they continue writing this genre, the best is yet to come. I had so many questions in the beginning, about why a certain character shows up! (Ask Holly – she and I were the first to read The Good Widow out of the four of us, and I was constantly sending her messages… “Why is so-n-so doing this?” or “What is going on with so-n-so with that?” {{ no spoilers here, folks!}}. She was a good book buddy and told me to “just wait.” This book is slick, in that it lets you think you have things figured out, but you don’t. It also left a bit of a mystery with the characters whose voices you didn’t get to hear (I may or may not have suggested a sequel written from James’s perspective, called The Bad Husband – Liz & Lisa, please feel free to use! 😉 ).   I loved this read, and am so excited to read what Liz & Lisa have in store for us next.  ~ Amy

Wow! It’s as if Lisa and Liz have been writing suspense fiction all along! I can’t believe The Good Widow is their first attempt at this genre. Amy and I were totally texting back and forth needing to know what happened next the entire time we were reading… then when Amber and Kris joined in, it was a discussion frenzy of “Did that seriously just happen?!” and “Did you see that coming?!”  The premise of the book was unique and the plot was drawn out so well, that I never quite knew who I should trust.  I finished the entire book in just two days because I had to know how everything was going to unravel… and everything got crazy! As much as I love Lisa and Liz’s women’s fiction, I am now addicted to their suspense, so I hope they have more in the works.  I mean Amy’s idea of the husband’s perspective sounds super intriguing… just in case Liz & Lisa see this post *wink*… I highly recommend The Good Widow (and really any of Liz & Lisa’s books) for your summer must-reads list… you won’t be able to put them down! ~Holly

Now it’s your turn to let us know what you thought!  After you finish reading The Good Widow, leave us a comment about your reading experience!  And if you’ve read Liz & Lisa’s women’s fiction, how do you feel The Good Widow compared?  We’d love to hear from you!

Happy Reading!

Buy it from Amazon here!!! Free in kindle unlimited, $3.99 for kindle edition, and only $8.33 right now for a paperback copy!!!!

Thank you also to Net Galley for an early copy!

Leave a Reply

