Duplicity (Julia Gooden Mystery #2) ~by Jane Haseldine

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In Jane Haseldine’s new novel of riveting suspense, Detroit newspaper reporter Julia Gooden is up against the city’s most devious criminal–and her own painful past.
Julia Gooden knows how to juggle different lives. A successful crime reporter, she covers the grittiest stories in the city while raising her two young boys in the suburbs. But beneath that accomplished facade is another Julia, still consumed by a tragedy that unfolded thirty years ago when her nine-year-old brother disappeared without a trace.
Julia’s marriage, too, is a balancing act, as she tries to rekindle her relationship with her husband, Assistant District Attorney David Tanner, while maintaining professional boundaries. David is about to bring Nick Rossi to trial for crimes that include drug trafficking, illegal gambling, and bribery. But the story becomes much more urgent when a courthouse bomb claims several victims–including the prosecution’s key witness–and leaves David critically injured.
Though Julia is certain that Rossi orchestrated the attack, the case against him is collapsing, and his power and connections run high and wide. With the help of Detective Raymond Navarro of the Detroit PD, she starts following a trail of blackmail, payback, and political ambition, little imagining where it will lead. Julia has risked her career before, but this time innocent lives–including her children’s–hang in the balance, and justice may come too late to save what truly matters…

I’m going to be brutally honest with you from the get-go: I. Loved. This. Book. I’ve been on such a thriller kick lately that I honestly wasn’t sure how a “straight” mystery would sit with me, but Haseldine’s book hit the sweet spot!

This book was so much more than “just” a mystery. It was filled with smart, interesting characters (strong female protagonist for the win!), and a plot that was more than just a straight line from A to B. There were enough sheisty characters in the mix to keep me from guessing the ending, which I greatly appreciated, and when the ending finally did start to reveal itself, I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.

I love a mystery that keeps me on my toes, constantly searching for every twist or double/hidden meaning without being too obvious, and Duplicity did exactly that. This series is so worth adding to your to-read list. (I should note that this is book #2, but it is the first book I’ve read in the series. I didn’t feel lost or that I’d missed any pertinent information by not having read book one prior to this one. If you choose to follow my non-numeric path through this series, I don’t think you’ll feel as though you’ve made a mistake. Other than the mistake of having waited so long to check out Haseldine’s writing, of course.)

~Amber

Purchase links: Barnes & Noble Amazon

Learn about the author on her Website. Follow her on TwitterInstagram, and Facebook.

Thank you to the author for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

