Checkmate: This Is Effortless (Drew & Courtney #2) ~by Kennedy Fox

Synopsis:

Courtney Bishop is as sugary sweet as her famous blueberry muffins.

Southern belle at heart, Cali girl by choice.

She barged into my life and easily became my best friend.

All was great as roommates and just friends, but then I fell for the girl who could chop firewood, deliver baby calves, and bail hay without breaking a sweat. 

She’s the perfect mixture of sugar and spice, and I love her.

Being more than friends and trying to build our future isn’t as easy as it sounds.

Moving forward and creating memories is all I want for us, but when the past continues to come back and haunt me, I’m not so sure she’ll stay for the ride. 

Loving her is easy, but losing her will break me. Burning passion combined with an undeniable chemistry constantly pushes and pulls us together. In the end, I’ll prove we’re worth the fight, even when the game is far from over.

Checkmate, sweetheart.​

*Recommend for ages 18+ due to sexual content and adult language.*

IMG_5700The day we’ve all been waiting for has finally arrived: the final installment of Team Drewtney is LIVE!!!!  Did you pre-order your copy and find it already loaded into your elibrary when you woke up this morning?  If not, have no fear! I have all of the purchase links listed below.

Ok, so let’s take a minute to talk about the book.  In my review of the first book in the duology (Checkmate: This Is Reckless), I raved about how much I loved the characters that Kennedy had created and how much I wanted to be friends with all of them.  That hasn’t changed.  In fact, my convictions have only increased in their intensity.  I LOVE THESE CHARACTERS! They are seriously the funniest, sassiest, loving-est people, and I want to know them.  (Well, most of them.  I can think of one character whom I’d enjoy bopping on the nose, but every book needs one of those, right? ;))

Teaser12-TIEAs for the story line in this second installment. . . Yowza! If you’ve already read book 1, you know how it ended and where this one picks up.  For anyone who hasn’t read it yet, let’s just say the first book ends on a cliffhanger that is the equivalent to a punch in the mommy button with the force of a rocket ship behind it.  It.  Was.  Insane!  So, this book picks up exactly where the story left off, the insanity keeps getting crazier, and the suspense of how everything is going to play out is enough to keep your heart racing late into the night.  All of that insanity aside, Drew and Courtney were still the cutest and were pulling at my heartstrings the entire time.  I was rooting for them through every obstacle and challenge that life threw in their path.  (Team Drewtney for the win!!)

Perhaps I should apologize for my somewhat vague descriptions, but I’m not going to.  If I try to say any more, I’m guaranteed to start spoiling things for you, and I would hate myself for that.  Drewtney’s story was fantastic, and you really need to experience it for yourself.  The only “warning” I will offer up to new readers: if you haven’t read Checkmate: This Is Reckless, you must read it before diving into Checkmate: This Is Effortless.  This series is completely tied together and attempting to read the second book as a standalone will leave you feeling miserable (as will reading book 1 and failing to continue on to book 2).

~Amber

And now for those purchase links:

🎲Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2kXYv8O

🎲Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2lHUCCe

🎲B&N: http://bit.ly/2lPZjtN

🎲iTunes: http://apple.co/2lWnKbx

🎲Kobo: http://bit.ly/2lHVmae

About Kennedy Fox (from their Website):

A secret duo of romance authors team up under the USA Today Bestselling pseudonym, Kennedy Fox who share a love of You’ve Got Mail and The Holiday. When they aren’t bonding over romantic comedies, they like to brainstorm new book ideas. One day, they decided to collaborate and have some fun creating new characters that’ll make your lady bits tingle and your heart melt. If you enjoy romance stories with sexy, tattooed alpha males and smart, independent women, then a Kennedy Fox book is for you!

Connect with Kennedy: Facebook  Instagram  Pinterest  Twitter

KFoxLogo-sm

Thank you to Kennedy Fox for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

