Snowbirds

Since it decided to snow like crazy in Wisconsin yesterday, I figured it would be the perfect time to review Snowbirds by Crissa-Jean Chappell and do a giveaway!

When I started reading Snowbirds, the book seemed fairly straight forward: an Amish teen goes missing during Rumspringa and her best friend is on a mission to find her.  However, Crissa-Jean Chappell threw in some interesting plot twists that made the storyline a bit more “out there” than a run of the mill YA suspense.  I’m undecided on how I felt about all of the storylines this book covered, and would love to hear thoughts from anyone who has picked up the book!

That being said, I really liked Lucy’s character and her desire to become more than what her father and her church wanted her to be. This main storyline was wonderfully written, and I loved the feelings that were portrayed through Lucy.  I think anyone who has been a teenager has experienced Lucy’s mixed emotions and sense of needing to find a path in life.

I was a *bit* confused as to whether the Amish community was being shown in a positive or negative light and felt some of the characters’ personalities/motives shifted throughout (and not in a character arc sort of way… ex. Lucy’s father).

This book flew by for me though despite a few bumps and here’s why:

-Crissa’s writing.  Crissa-Jean Chappell can write lyrical, meaningful sentences that paint a vivid picture of her characters and their lives

-Wanting to know what happened to Alice.  There was enough suspense to keep me guessing what happened to Alice until close to the end.  I didn’t feel like the plot was too easy to figure out.

-To learn a bit about Amish culture.  I always find fiction that involves a culture, setting, era, etc that I have not personally lived in intriguing.  The Amish culture was definitely well researched for this book.

I only wish that the ending might have been a bit more climatic.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t feel like the ending was bad, I just wanted there to be a bit more to it.  There was all of this build up and these awesome secondary characters and they led to a pretty tame ending.  (Okay, perhaps I have been reading too many psychological suspense/thrillers lately, and that is why the ending seemed less exciting.)

All-in-all, I would definitely recommend this book for YA readers who enjoy a good realistic fiction read with a dash of romance and a hint of suspense.

Now for some fun!!! Merit Press is wonderful enough to let us giveaway a copy to one of our lucky readers!  (Which I’m pretty jazzed about, because I’m dying to talk to someone about this book and get your thoughts!)  All you have to do to enter to win a finished copy of Snowbirds is visit our Instagram feed, find our Snowbirds review post, and leave a comment letting us know your favorite thing about a snowy day!  You can tag friends for extra entries as well (one tag=one entry).  A winner will be selected on Wednesday, March 9th!  **US residents only please**

Happy Reading everyone!!!

-Holly

 

Leave a Reply

