My Not So Perfect Life- Sophie Kinsella

 

___________________________________________________________

Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

Then Demeter and her family book in for a holiday, and Katie sees her chance. But should she get revenge on the woman who ruined her dreams? Or try to get her job back? Does Demeter – the woman with everything – have such an idyllic life herself? Maybe they have more in common than it seems.

And what’s wrong with not-so-perfect, anyway?

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­_________________________________________________________________

I really enjoyed this book! I have been reading a lot of psychological thrillers lately so I was needing a change. This was a light-hearted, funny read that I didn’t want to put down. I love how most of the book revolves around her annoying boss and her job instead of focusing on the romantic side of the story. Don’t get me wrong—I am a huge fan of Romantic Comedies—the Hallmark Channel is my go to on my days off, but I just wanted something I could enjoy and didn’t have to dissect every word. Kinsella has always been a fav author of mine because I know I can count on something that will keep me entertained.

I really enjoyed Katie as a character. She may have been trying to keep up appearances and put a bit too much on her plate, but that’s what made this such a good story. She created Cat, who is trendy, fashionable, and lives the fabulous London life. In reality, she is Katie, a sweet farmer’s daughter who is just trying to fit in. She is creative, funny, and is trying to find herself. The story is one that made me smile and laugh out loud. There are so many times in life where we put on a happy face and try to make things seem better than they really are. I mean, how many of us have dealt with a know-it-all boss, crappy roommates, or parents that you don’t want to disappoint. We’ve all told a little white lie at some point. I love the message knitted into the plot and, overall, it’s such a charming read!

Happy Pub Day Sophie Kinsella!!! Get it here on Amazon!

Happy Reading book lovers!!
xoxo,

Kris

Follow Sophie Kinsella on social media to keep up with her work!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SophieKinsellaOfficial/

Instagram: @sophiekinsellawriter     Twitter: @KinsellaSophie

 

*Thank you to NetGalley for giving me this awesome ARC in exchange for this review*

 

Leave a Reply

