Throwback to Where it All Began

After going to my daughter’s parent/teacher conference this week and hearing that she constantly has a book in her hands filled my heart with immense pride. On her self-reflection, she wrote that her favorite subject was reading. She didn’t really know why except for the fact that her mom is always reading. Guilty as charged! Out of all the possible addictions out there- I picked an awesome one to have! We have hundreds of children’s books and then I have a vast array of many genres myself. My friends constantly ask to borrow and I keep track as well as the local library does.

I still get excited when the Book Fair comes to my school and remember as a child how exciting that was to order from Scholastic or get $20 to spend on books at the Book Fair. I remember going to Barnes and Noble on the weekends with my dad and the excitement I would get from being able to pick out ONE book. The process was carefully plotted and utterly excruciating, but I would finally make my choice. Putting my dad’s books in the trunk, grabbing mine, hopping back in the car, and starting to read it on the way home was a weekly ritual. I am proud to have inherited his love of reading—just as my 4th Grade daughter has inherited mine.

She has a few favorites, such as: Dork Diaries, Dear Dumb Diary, Junie B. Jones, and American Girl books. My little guy is in 2nd Grade and likes anything with monster trucks, bugs or dinosaurs, B. Jones, Big Green Monster, and quite a few others. Both of them were read to before they could sit up- whether it was something by Dr. Seuss or Eric Carle. The Rainbow Fish, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, Goosebumps, Alexander and the Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, and The Giving Tree were staples in this house. We have a tradition of reading The Night Before Christmas every Christmas Eve along with a new set of pajamas, a new ornament, and some hot cocoa. We read in the car, outside, at school, on vacation, and pretty much anywhere we can. I love our family of readers!!!

This made me think back to when I was young and craved those weekly visits to Barnes and Noble or that yearly trip down the school halls to the Book Fair. I was able to read so many awesome books!

Some of my favorites were:

  • The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin
  • Where The Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein
  • Little Critter Stories by Mercer Mayer
  • The Berenstain Bears series by Stan and Jan Berenstain
  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz
  • The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney
  • Superfudge by Judy Blume (and the rest!)
  • Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary
  • The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary (okay, all of them)
  • Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
  • Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Dead Lifeguard by R.L. Stine (Fear Street Super Chiller!)
  • Sweet Valley High Series by Francine Pascal
  • How to Eat Fried Worms by Thomas Rockwell

These are just a handful of the books that molded me into the book lover I am today. I can’t pick just one… they were all such a big part of my childhood. What were your favorites? What ones are so special and memorable that you passed them down to your kids? How many of you have mini-book lovers at home? Take a trip back in time and think about your list—let us know if any of my favorites were on your list!

It doesn’t matter what you read-> as long as you’re reading! Yes, that’s my son at the age of 2 reading the sale paper! lol

Happy Reading Book Lovers!

Xoxo- Kris

P.S. How many of you watched Beauty and the Beast as a little one and were jealous of her library? I was that girl… and still am!

 

 

Leave a Reply

