It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

From the back cover: Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

When Colleen let the world know that her new book was available for pre-order, I jumped on that like a fly on poo. I didn’t even bother to read the synopsis, because it was a new Colleen Hoover book and the only thing that mattered was making it mine. So when my copy arrived on my doorstep on August 3, I jumped in feet first with no idea where this story was going to take me. My preferred method of reading a book is “blind”, knowing fairly little about the storyline so as not to figure it out before actually getting to the end of the book, and I am so glad that I was able to read IEWU that way because there is so much more to this story than that back cover blurb lets on.

The relationships in this book, both platonic and romantic, are intense and intricate, as most relationships are. There were plenty of moments when I found myself smiling, laughing, or nodding in solidarity with characters’ words and behaviors. There were also plenty of moments when I wanted to scream at and shake the characters, because WHY?! But there was so much truth to the behaviors, words, actions, and reactions of the characters in this book that it was impossible to stay mad at anyone. (Well, almost anyone.)

I have remained intentionally vague about the details of this story because I think it’s important for everyone to go into reading this book semi-blind. There’s a major theme in this book that isn’t mentioned on the back cover, and I’m not going to mention it here. You might read the first handful of pages and think you have this story figured out. Keep reading. I’m also going to say that it’s important to read the author’s note at the end of the story . . . after you’ve read the story. And I’m going to warn you: this book will probably gut you, but in the best possible way. It’s going to take you for a ride on an emotional roller coaster, but it’s a good ride. I just hope you remember to fasten your seatbelt before it takes off.
-Amber

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Thoughts on It Ends With Us from another Midwest Lady:

With all the hype surrounding this book, I knew it was going to go on my TBR pile. Little did I know, that I would become more and more enticed to the point that I would move it up as my next read. Although there’s so much that I would love to tell you about this book, I have to hold myself back from revealing too much because I hate spoilers! What I can tell you is that I highlighted the hell out of this story… There was so much of me that wanted nothing more than to scream and cry with the characters at multiple points throughout. I was utterly upset at some of the decisions Lily made, but in a story such as this…. It was what she needed to do because that was real. It was exactly what someone’s sister, friend, or mother would have done. It made her feel like a friend… one with secrets, one I wanted to protect, and one I wanted to save, but she didn’t need someone to save her- She had that strength within her the whole time.

There aren’t many stories that will tell the dark tales of a relationship in such a realistic way. It’s something that many won’t even face in real life. What this story taught me is although we probably all know at least one person who has been in a relationship like this throughout their lives, it’s not something black and white. You can compare your situation to others, make excuses, or ignore the fact that it’s happening, but nonetheless, it is a serious topic that drains one’s confidence, one’s dreams, and one’s sense of self. Nothing is black and white, and sometimes there’s such a gray area, that it’s impossible to know where to draw the line.

This was such a gripping, realistic knife to the heart that it took me days to put together this review. Although I have greatly fondled the hidden story-line within this amazing book, make it a point to read this book. When you are finished read the note from the author in the back of the book (I said AFTER). You will not regret it and you will still be thinking about this days after you’re done.

Happy Reading!
-Kris

2 Comments Add yours

  1. susieqlaw says:

    This book is on my TBR list!

    Like

    1. It’s a must read!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

